43 C
Monday, June 5, 2023

International Prize for Arabic Fiction announces longlist for 2022 award

Must read

Masks made by inmates distributed to workers, healthcare facilities – News – Emirates

In line with the directives of H.H. Lt. General Sheikh Saif bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior,...

Sheikha Fatima orders distribution of Iftar meals in industrial cities – News – Emirates

H.H. Sheikha Fatima bint Mubarak, Chairwoman of the General Women's Union (GWU), President of the Supreme Council for Motherhood and Childhood, Supreme Chairwoman...

Mohammed bin Rashid grants Golden Visa to 212 DHA doctors – News – Emirates

Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum has issued directives...

Emirates resumes passenger flights to 9 destinations – Business – Corporate

Emirates has announced its plan to operate scheduled flight services from 21st May to nine destinations: London Heathrow Frankfurt, Paris, Milan, Madrid, Chicago,...


Thu, 2022-01-27 12:56

DUBAI: The International Prize for Arabic Fiction has announced the 16 longlisted authors competing to receive a $50,000 award when the winner is revealed in May.

Among the authors in contention for the 2022 award are Emirati author Reem Alkamali, Egyptian novelist Ezzedine Choukri Fishere, Eritrean writer Hajji Jabir, Nizar Aghri from Syria, Algerian novelist Boumediene Belkebir, Syrian author Yaa’rab Al-Eissa and Egyptian writer Tarek Imam.

Also competing for the prize are authors Bushra Khalfan from Oman, Morocco’s Mohsine Loukili, Khaled Nasrallah from Kuwait, Mohammed Al-Nu’as from Libya and Algerian Rouchdi Redouane.

Rounding out the longlist is Kuwaiti author Mona Al-Shammari, Syrian novelist Dima Al-Shukr and Egyptian writers Mohamed Tawfik and Belal Fadl.

Five judges, which include Tunisian novelist and previous IPAF winner Shukri Mabkhout and Libyan doctor, poet and translator Ashur Etwebi, chose the list from among 122 entries from nine countries across the Arab world.

Out of the 16 novels, six will be shortlisted with the titles revealed in March. All six shortlisted authors will receive $10,000 each.

Jordanian writer Jalal Barjas won the prize last year for his work “Notebooks of the Bookseller,” announced at an online ceremony in May. In addition to the $50,000 prize, the author also received funding toward securing an English translation of his novel.

Main category: 


Source link

- Advertisement -

More articles

Leave a Reply

- Advertisement -

Latest article

Ministry of Finance participates in 10th Global Forum Competent Authorities Conference on Transparency and Exchange of Information for Tax Purposes

The Ministry of Finance recently participated in the 10th Global Forum Competent Authorities Conference on Transparency More...

Ministry of Climate Change and Environment conducts preparatory workshop to bolster National Biodiversity Strategy

As part of the Year of Sustainability and in preparation for hosting the Conference of the Parties to the United More...

Village garbage man helped unearth ancient bronze statues in Tuscany

One of Italy's most remarkable archaeological finds in decades goes on show this month - Etruscan and Roman statues More...

North Korean leader’s sister vows 2nd attempt to launch spy satellite, slams UN meeting

The influential sister of North Korean leader Kim Jong Un vowed again Sunday to push for a second attempt to launch a More...

Apple is expected to unveil a sleek, pricey headset. Is it the device VR has been looking for?

Apple appears poised to unveil a long-rumored headset that will place its users between the virtual and real world, More...
%d bloggers like this: